We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Bicameral Parliamentary System Essay Sample

The whole doc is available only for registered users OPEN DOC

Get Full Essay

Get access to this section to get all the help you need with your essay and educational goals.

Get Access

Bicameral Parliamentary System Essay Sample

A bicameral system is a parliamentary system of two legislative Chambers. Indian system is bicameral because both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha are involved in the process of making new laws. Bicameral literally means ‘two chamber’. Countries with Bicameral Parliamentary System:

1. Australia-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives 2. Austria-Parliament–Federal Council–National Council 3. Antigua and Barbuda-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives 4. The Bahamas-Parliament–Senate–House of Assembly 5. Barbados-Parliament–Senate–House of Assmebly 6. Belize–National Assembly–Senate–House of Representatives 7. Belgium-Federal Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Representatives 8. Bhutan-Parliament (Chitshog)–Bhutan will become a Democratic Constitutional Monarchy in 2008–National Council (Gyalyong Tshogde)– National Assembly (Gyalyong Tshogdu)

9. Canada-Parliament–Senate–House of Commons 10. Czech Republic-Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Deputies 11. Ethiopia-Federal Parliamentary Assembly–House of Federation– House of People’s Representatives 12. Germany–Bundesrat (Federal Council)–Bundestag (Federal Diet) 13. Grenada-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives 14. India-Parliament–Rajya Sabha (Council of States)–Lok Sabha (House of People) 15. Ireland-Oireachtas–Seanad Éireann–Dáil Éireann 16. Iraq-National Assembly–Council of Union [2]–Council of Representatives 17. Italy-Parliament–Senate of the Republic–Chamber of Deputies

18. Jamaica-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives 19. Japan-Diet–House of Councillors–House of Representatives 20. Malaysia-Parliament–Dewan Negara–Dewan Rakyat 21. The Netherlands-States-General–Eerste Kamer–Tweede Kamer 22. Pakistan-Majlis-e-Shoora–Senate–National Assembly 23. Poland-Parliament–Senate–Sejm 24. Romania-Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Deputies 25. Saint Lucia-Parliament–Senate–House of Assembly

26. Slovenia-Parliament–National Council–National Assembly 27. South Africa-Parliament–National Council of Provinces–National Assembly 28. Spain-Cortes Generales–Senate–Congress of Deputies 29. Switzerland-Federal Assembly–Council of States–National Council 30. Thailand-National Assembly [3]–Senate–House of Representatives 31. Trinidad and Tobago-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives 32. United Kingdom-Parliament–House of Lords–House of Common

We can write a custom essay

According to Your Specific Requirements

Order an essay

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

It's Not Illegal If The Government Does...

From what I've learned about apartheid and from what I've read in the novel I have learned how this system has been able to survive as long as it did. I saw how only less than 30% of the population was able to oppress over 70% of the other population. I also understand how the poor were set into a perpetual state of poverty and...

Theory of Property to His Theory of...

John Locke 's labour theory of property and government has won attention from a staggering range of interpreters. Some analysts have hailed the theory as the greatest achievement of Locke's political writing, whereas others have scorned it as critically misdirected and shallow. For numerous analysts both friendly and hostile, the labour theory functions as the core of Lockean individualism, but for others the theory serves...

Quality of life and death

“Quality of life”is what most people want. However, “Quality of death”is seldom mentioned in Hong Kong.People never think about “end-of-life” care until one day they suffer from terminal illnesses or terminal conditions which are incurable. End-of-life care is defined as a care receive at the end of their lifes has a positive influence on both the patients and their families or carers.Those patients have the...

Allocation of governmental positions

The first thing that needs to be said is that I’ve chosen this topic as it seems very relevant and interesting to me. The concept of political regime is very widespread and popular among different scholars. So, let’s try to understand the meaning of this concept. According to G. O’Donnell and P. Schmitter, political regime is “the ensemble of patterns, explicit or not, that determines...

National Anti-Slavery Convention

Before the 1820s, many democratic ideals were not present. African Americans and women were still seen as inferior to white men; education wasn’t a requirement nor was it available to many individuals; alcohol was able to be consumed as when pleased and excessively; and the mentally unhealthy were treated as criminals. Government was run under a federalist system stating that states and provinces share power...

Get Access To The Full Essay
Materials Daily
100,000+ Subjects
2000+ Topics
Free Plagiarism
All Materials
are Cataloged Well

Sorry, but copying text is forbidden on this website. If you need this or any other sample, we can send it to you via email.

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.
Sorry, but only registered users have full access

How about getting this access

Become a member

Your Answer Is Very Helpful For Us
Thank You A Lot!


Emma Taylor


Hi there!
Would you like to get such a paper?
How about getting a customized one?

Can't find What you were Looking for?

Get access to our huge, continuously updated knowledge base

The next update will be in:
14 : 59 : 59
Become a Member