We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Major Functions of the Brain Essay Sample

The whole doc is available only for registered users OPEN DOC
  • Pages:
  • Word count: 635
  • Category: brain

Get Full Essay

Get access to this section to get all the help you need with your essay and educational goals.

Get Access

Major Functions of the Brain Essay Sample

The five major structures of the brain are myelencephalon, Metencephalon, mesencephalon, diencephalon and telencephalon. The myelencephalon carries signals from the brain to the entire parts of the human body and it is also uniquely shaped looking like a little net. The Metencephalon is made up of ascending and descending tracts just like the myelencephalon. It has two major divisions which are pons and the cerebellum. The mesencephalon has two divisions also and they are the tectum and the tegmentum. The diencephalon is composed of two structures which are thalamus and hypothalamus. These two structures play a lot in our senses and important roles like sexual activity and sleep. The telecephalon initiates voluntary movement and interprets sensory input. It also mediates complex processes such as speaking, learning, and problem solving. The information below will be describing the five major structures and the functions that take place in the human body from the major structures in the brain. The myelencephalon is made up of tracts that carry signals from the rest of the brain throughout the entire part of the body. The myelencephalon has a unique shape. It has a reticular shape meaning it looks like a little net. It is made up of about 100 tiny nuclei that occupies the central core of the brainstem.

Parts of the myelencephalon play a part in arousal. The functions of the myelencephalon include sleep, attention, and movement, the maintenance of muscle tone and various cardiac, circulatory and respiratory reflexes. According to this collection of nuclei, it is an activating system and this means that it can be misleading to us. Metencephalon is also made up of many ascending and descending tracts that are also a part of the reticular formation. The structure creates a bulge which these are pons, and it is located on the brain stems ventral surface. There are two major divisions of the Metencephalon which are the pons and the cerebellum. The cerebellum is a sensorimotor structure. If the cerebellar gets damaged then the ability to precisely control ones movements are eliminated. The cerebellar damage can also produce a variety of cognitive deficits in decision making and also the use of language suggests that the functions of the cerebellum are not restricted to sensorimotor control. Mesencephalon has two divisions like the Metencephalon. Tectum and the tegmentum are the two divisions. The tectum is composed of the two pairs of bumps that is located in the brain on mammals.

The posterior pair have an auditory function and the anterior pair have a visual function. The tegmentum is the division that contains also the reticular formation and it contains three colorful structures. The three colorful structures are the periaqueductal gray, the substantia nigra, and the red nucleus. The Diencephalon is composed of two structures which are the thalamus and the hypothalamus. The thalamic nuclei are the sensory relay nuclei that receive signals from the sensory receptors, process them and then they send them to the areas of the sensory cortex. The hypothalamus plays in a lot of important roles like sexual arousal and sleep. It exerts its affects in part by regulating the release of hormones from the pituitary gland. The hypothalamus has a few structures that are in the inferior surface.

Telemcephalon is the largest division of the human brain and it mediates the brains complex functions. The telencephalon initiates voluntary movement, interprets sensory input and mediates complex processes such as speaking, learning and problem solving. These are all complex cognitive processes. The cerebral hemispheres are covered by a layer of tissue called the cerebal cortex. There are two fissures that will partially divide each hemisphere into four lobes. The four lobes are the frontal lobe, the parietal lobe, the temporal lobe and the occipital lobe. The cerebral lobes are not functional.

We can write a custom essay

According to Your Specific Requirements

Order an essay

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

Risk brain drain

Risk is an opportunity-without taking risks, one cannot conquer an opportunity. Be it an individual\'s point of view, a firm's objective or the government's involvement in providing aid to its citizens, all these revolve around using resources effectively and taking decisions that would lead to a favourable outcome. The usual thought process of people residing in a developing country is that, an individual can only...

Structure and Functions of the Human Brain

a) Draw a diagram to show the structure of the human brain. b) Outline the function of the following regions of the human brain: medulla oblongata, cerebellum, hypothalamus, pituitary gland, cerebral hemisphere. Medulla oblongata: The medulla oblongata contains the neural centres of the autonomic nervous system and therefore controls automatic activities such as breathing, heart rate, blood pressure, swallowing digestion, production of saliva etc. Cerebellum:...

Brain Cancer and Cell Phones

Cell phones are used in our everyday lives, it is a thing that people use for their business, entertainment, or communicating with each other. The case that is related to brain cancer is due to the usage of cell phones, and it has sprouted the attention of the scientists from worldwide. According to the researchers people are getting brain tumors and benign tumor on the...

Phineas Gage Paper

The brain is an extraordinary structure intended to multi-task on a recurrent basis. Not only is it accountable for modifiable all of the body’s frequent processes, it is also accountable for coordinating all of the cognitive gathering that divide and differentiate humans from all other faction (Ehow Health, 2011). The human brain is accountable for regulating all of a human’s physical processes, including emotions, thinking,...

Role of Nature and Nurture in Language...

How do both nature and nurture interact in the promotion of language development in young children? The debate between many researchers is the argument of whether nature or nurture play a more important role in development. In this essay I will be looking into both aspects of nature and nurture focusing specifically on their influence towards language development in children. A main controversial question I...

Get Access To The Full Essay
Materials Daily
100,000+ Subjects
2000+ Topics
Free Plagiarism
All Materials
are Cataloged Well

Sorry, but copying text is forbidden on this website. If you need this or any other sample, we can send it to you via email.

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.
Sorry, but only registered users have full access

How about getting this access

Become a member

Your Answer Is Very Helpful For Us
Thank You A Lot!


Emma Taylor


Hi there!
Would you like to get such a paper?
How about getting a customized one?

Can't find What you were Looking for?

Get access to our huge, continuously updated knowledge base

The next update will be in:
14 : 59 : 59
Become a Member